top of page
  • moreandbest10

A Grateful Heart

There are good and bad days in parenting. Today started off rough. My two-year-old had a fever. This had to come on a day that Jamie had a recital. It was in fact her FIRST recital. I was hopeful that Asher’s fever would go away quickly and nothing more would come of it. Over the course of the day, the fever went up. I notified her vocal instructor and was told she would need to stay home tonight.


Jamie walked into the kitchen with a big smile on her face. She had just got out of the shower and asked me what time I’d be serving dinner. These are the moments in parenting that are a struggle. I watched her excitement turn to sadness. Even though she understood why she couldn’t perform tonight, it didn’t take away the disappointment.


We all face these challenges as parents. When our kids hurt, and we can’t fix it for them it hurts US too. I must admit, I cried alongside her. We talked through it. After a couple of hours and some bad dancing, I had her laughing again.


This wasn’t the first big disappointment in her life, and it certainly won’t be the last. As she grows, the heartaches won’t always be able to be bandaged with silly antics. I dread the day when she has her heart broken by a boy she loves. I dread the day she invests all she has into something and falls short. I dread the day she loses someone she loves and grieves with her whole heart.


I share this to say I am grateful. I'm grateful for even the tough days. I am grateful that I get to help her navigate these difficult moments. I am grateful that she is here with me. I am grateful that I am able to hug her. I am grateful that I was chosen to be her mom.






bottom of page